Lionel Messi Wins La Liga top scorer For The Fourth time

has regained the Pichichi Trophy for the first time since 2012-13 by finishing as La Liga’s highest scorer.lionel-messi-barcelona_10ty2vpy5s6wk1nv9zjjzoj38e

The Argentine netted 37 times for Barcelona this season, claiming the award for a fourth time and finishing eight goals ahead of last term’s leading marksman Luis Suarez.

Cristiano Ronaldo, who has fallen behind his great rival in terms of the number of Pichichi titles he has won, came third, having struck 25 times.


All three players scored on the final day of the Liga season, with Messi’s double earning Barcelona a 4-2 win over Eibar. He had missed a penalty before scoring from the spot and then produced a wonderful individual goal to round off the scoring in stoppage time.

Suarez had drawn Barca level at 2-2 after Eibar had taken a shock 2-0 lead at Camp Nou.

Ronaldo, meanwhile, opened the scoring inside the opening two minutes as Madrid eased to a 2-0 victory away to Malaga to wrap up the title.

Messi’s haul means that the winner of the prize has scored on average more than one goal per game in each of the last seven seasons, and his tally will likely be enough to also claim the European Golden Boot.

It is an award that he and Ronaldo have dominated for the best part of a decade, with Suarez last term the first player since Diego Forlan in 2008-09 to break the pair’s duopoly.

With four wins to his credit, the 29-year-old Argentine has drawn level with Ferenc Puskas, the legendary Real Madrid striker, on four Pichichi crowns. However, he still trails Atletico and Real forward Hugo Sanchez, ex-Real Sociedad and Barca attacker Quini and the great Alfredo Di Stefano, all of whom have won the prize on five occasions.

Telmo Zarra, who played for Athletic Bilbao in the 1940s and 50s, meanwhile, holds the outright record on six.

The prize is scant consolation for Messi, with Real Madrid having claimed La Liga on the final day of the season at Malaga.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.